UK SRSThe UK Sustainability Reporting Standards, ESOS, SECR and TCFD, read against the published text.HUBYOU ARE HEREUK SRS GuideAn independent reference guide to UK SRS, ESG, TCFD, SECR, ESOS and the global standards.Global Reporting StandardsSustainability reporting standards worldwide: ISSB, the EU CSRD after Omnibus I, California SB 253 and SB 261, and UK SRS.UK SRS StandardsUK SRS S1 and S2 at the provision: reliefs, comply or explain, and the FCA statements.ESOS QuestESOS Phase 4 in depth: qualification, the audit, sign-off, action plans and penalties, read against the Regulations.SRS EngineeringThe data build behind a UK SRS report: metrics, owners, controls and timing.SRS ReportWhat a UK SRS report contains, how it is assembled, and how to read one.UK SRS ReportAnalysis and commentary: CDP, the DESNZ emission factors, SECR and ESOS, with every figure cited.UK SRS NewsThe cluster's news publication, and what a UK SRS report contains.UK SRS DeliveryTemplates, costs, ESOS delivery guides and readiness assessment.UK SRS FinanceFinanced emissions, PCAF and IFRS S1/S2 for banks, insurers and asset managers.SECRStreamlined Energy and Carbon Reporting: deadlines, thresholds, eligibility and guidance.Carbon CreditsCarbon credit ratings, risk analysis, valuation and market structure.Environmental RegimesThe eight UK environmental reporting regimes, their thresholds, deadlines and regulators.UK SRS ServicesThe services arm: ESOS, SECR, net zero and sustainability consultancy.

Software · ESG, choosing worksheet

How to choose ESG software: a six-step worksheet

To choose ESG software, write down your duties, map your data, shortlist three platforms, run one demo on your own data, test the exit, then decide on written answers.

Each step below ends in a sentence you write, not a score, so the decision can be explained to a board.

For the full checklist and RFP question set, read how to choose ESG reporting software.

Step 1

Which duties does the software have to serve?

Write one line for each duty that applies to you, with its status.

Sources: Sch 7 · ESOS · PS26/19 · PPN 006
DutyStatusApplies to us? (write it)
SECRIn force for quoted companies, large unquoted companies and LLPs—
ESOSIn force for large undertakings—
UK SRSComply or explain for UKLR 6, 14, 15, 16 and 22, periods from 1 January 2027; voluntary otherwise—
PPN 006Procurement policy for major government contracts—
GRI, CDP, EcoVadisVoluntary, often requested by customers—

Answer to write: “The software must serve these duties, in this order of urgency.”

  1. 1

    1 Duties

    What you must or choose to report.

  2. 2

    2 Data

    Where it lives and who owns it.

  3. 3

    3 Demo

    One script, your data, every vendor.

  4. 4

    4 Shortlist

    Three platforms, own words.

  5. 5

    5 Exit

    How everything comes back.

  6. 6

    6 Decide

    Written answers, then the contract.

Step 2

Where does your ESG data live, and who owns each part?

List each source system and the person who owns it, before any demo.

UK SRS S1 ¶20 asks for sustainability disclosures for the same reporting entity as the financial statements, under the standard, so the software’s group structure has to match the accounts.

The number of data owners, more than the number of frameworks, decides how much work the platform saves.

Answer to write: “Our data comes from these systems, owned by these people.”

Your data mapExplore

Your data map

Entities

The same group as the accounts.

Step 3

Which demo should every shortlisted platform run on your data?

Send every vendor the same script and the same anonymised extract of your data.

Each question beside this names its source and what a passing answer looks like.

Answer to write: “Each platform did or did not complete each task, and here is what we saw.”

This site has tested no products

Nothing here is a rating, ranking or recommendation.

One demo script for every vendor · tick the ones you need

The pass tests are our reading of the cited provisions.

Nothing you tick is stored or sent.

Step 4

Which platforms should go on the shortlist, in their own words?

The 51 vendors this site files under ESG reporting, alphabetically, which ranks nothing. Each sets out its offer clearly, so three that match your duties are quick to find.

PlatformWhat its own site says on UK SRSPublished price
AltruistiqGet compliant with CSRD, SRS, California Climate Disclosures and more.Enterprise level · TBD
ASUENENo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
Benchmark GensuiteNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
BriinkNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
Clarity AINo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
Climatise“One spine: SECR · ESOS · UK SRS” — the same client data “also serves SECR and UK SRS”Enterprise level · TBD
CoolsetNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
CorityNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
DatamaranNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
DcycleNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
DeepkiNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
DiginexNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
EcoOnlineNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
Enablon
Part of Wolters Kluwer since July 2016
No claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
EnvoriaNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
EvotixNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
Green Project Technologies
Part of ACT Group (date not stated on its site)
No claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
Greenly
Merger with Normative announced, September 2026
“Connect your GHG Protocol data to UK SRS reporting”Enterprise level · TBD
Greenomy
Acquired by Position Green, September 2025; its platform now integrated into Position Green’s
No claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
IBM Envizi ESG Suite
Part of IBM since January 2022
No claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
Ideagen
Part of Hg since June 2022
No claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
IntegrityNextNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
Intelex
Part of Fortive since July 2019
No claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
IsoMetrixNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
ManglaiNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
MeasurablNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingFree solution 'at no cost, in perpetuity' (tracking incl. Scopes 1–3, benchmarking, secure sharing); premium/paid upgrades (Navigate, Optimize, Comply) have no published price.
Nossa DataISSB and UK SRS disclosure, done right.Enterprise level · TBD
NovataNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingNovata for Companies: Manage 20K, Grow 50K, Lead 100K a year (currency not stated)
NovistoNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
Oracle Fusion Cloud SustainabilityNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
osapiensCover CSRD/ESRS, VSME, GRI, ISSB, HKFRS SDS, UK SRS and more from a single source of truth your teams can always rely on.Enterprise level · TBD
PersefoniNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingPersefoni Pro “completely free”, single user; Advanced by quote
Plan A
Part of Diginex since January 2026
No claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
Position GreenNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
PulsoraNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
Quentic
Part of AMCS since July 2022
No claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
Salesforce Net Zero CloudNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingNet Zero Cloud Growth £168,000 per organisation per year, billed annually, including one full CRM licence
Sami
Part of SGS (majority stake) since November 2025
No claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
SAP Sustainability Footprint ManagementNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
ServiceNow Operational Sustainability ManagementNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
SINAI TechnologiesNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
Sphera
Part of Blackstone since September 2021
No claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
Sweep“Pre-mapped to UK SRS S1 and UK SRS S2”Enterprise level · TBD
TansoNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
Terrascope
Part of XeleratedFifty since February 2026
No claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
TraceGenerate audit-ready ASRS, ISSB, and UK SRS-aligned disclosures with guided workflows, templates, and expert support.Enterprise level · TBD
Unravel CarbonNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
WatershedNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
Workiva CarbonNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingEnterprise level · TBD
WorldfavorNo claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingA free plan for suppliers responding to data requests; buyer plans by quote
Zevero
Acquired, 2024 (buyer not named on its site)
No claim found on the pages we read: ask in writingZevero Lite (Scope 1 & 2) starts from £1,500 / year; main plans (Essential, Leading, Premium) by quote; add-ons: Product Carbon Footprint starts at £500 / product; EPD from £10,000 / product; AI-powered ESG Reporting starting at £1,000; Decarbonisation Strategy from £2,000; B Corp Audit from £750. One-year minimum.

Each line is the platform’s own description, linked to the page it is on, read 11 October 2026 and 30 September–1 October 2026. Alphabetical; nothing here is a rating.

Pick threeExplore

Pick three

Duty match

Their own words cover your step 1 duties.

Answer to write: “These three, because their own descriptions match our duties and systems.”

Step 5

How do you get everything back if you leave?

Test the exit before you sign, not when you renew.

UK GDPR Article 28(3)(g) requires a processor contract to say the provider deletes or returns personal data at the end of the service, at your choice, and Article 28(9) requires the contract in writing, under Article 28.

Ask for the same terms for all ESG data, workings and evidence, not only personal data.

Answer to write: “We can export everything in these formats, and the contract says so.”

Step 1 · what the inventory feeds

What the inventory feeds

Step 2 · what the move changes

What the move changes

Step 3 · 7 things the next report has to carry

  1. Before access ends, export activity data, every factor with its version, and the methodology notes, so each past figure can be rebuilt.Our reading of the consistency principle, GHG Protocol Ch 1
  2. Keep each year on the factor set for its own activity year; a new library does not license re-running old years on new factors.DESNZ 2026 methodology ¶1.10
  3. Scope 2 electricity uses the emission factors corresponding to the relevant year.GHG Protocol technical assistance
  4. Test the change against your own significance threshold; a significant change in calculation methodology can require the base year to be recalculated. The GHG Protocol sets no figure — you set and disclose one.GHG Protocol 2019 Inventory Guidance
  5. Last year’s energy and emissions still appear beside this year’s in the directors’ report.Sch 7 ¶18, ¶18A (quoted) · ¶20H (unquoted)
  6. The methodology statement describes the methods actually used this year.Sch 7 ¶16 (quoted) · ¶20F (unquoted)
  7. Where the comparatives are restated on the new method, say so in that statement, so the two columns are read on one basis.Our reading of the Sch 7 ¶16 · ¶20F

Duties are the cited provisions; lines marked “our reading” are this site’s.

Not advice on any product or contract.

Nothing you tick is stored or sent.

Step 6

How do you decide without a score?

Put the written answers from steps 1 to 5 side by side and pick the platform with the fewest open questions.

No UK law requires sustainability assurance, but ISSA (UK) 5000 is available for voluntary use from periods beginning on or after 15 December 2026, so ask what a reviewer would see.

Answer to write: “We chose this platform because of these answers, and these questions remain open.”

The decision noteExplore

The decision note

Duties served

Step 1, line by line.

For the board

We chose the platform that fits our duties and lets us leave cleanly

That sentence, with the six written answers behind it, is the whole decision record.

Takeaways

How to choose ESG software in five facts

Sources: PS26/19 · UK SRS S1 · ISSA (UK) 5000 · UK GDPR Art 28
FactWhat to do
UK SRS is comply or explain for five listing categories from 2027List it in step 1 only if it applies
UK SRS S1 uses the same reporting entity as the accountsDemo your real group structure
No UK law requires sustainability assuranceAsk what a reviewer would see anyway
A processor contract must provide for deletion or returnTest the exit before signing
A weighted score is a ranking in disguiseDecide on written answers

Next: take the shortlist into ESG software implementation for the order of work after signing.

Frequently asked

How to choose ESG software, answered

How do I choose ESG software?

Write down the UK duties you carry first, then the data you hold and who owns it.

Shortlist three platforms whose own descriptions match, run the same demo on your own data, test the exit, and decide on written answers rather than a score.

The long guide on choosing ESG reporting software covers each step in depth.

Why no scoring matrix?

A weighted score turns judgements into a number that looks precise and ranks products.

This worksheet asks for a written answer at each step, which is easier to defend to a board.

Which ESG software is best?

This site has tested no product and names no best.

The platforms listed describe their own offers clearly; the right one is the one that passes your demo on your data.

What should I decide before talking to vendors?

Which duties apply to you — SECR, ESOS, UK SRS under the FCA’s comply-or-explain rules if you are a listed company in scope, PPN 006 if you bid for major government contracts — and which voluntary frameworks your customers ask for.

Is UK SRS mandatory?

No. Under FCA PS26/19, listed companies in UKLR 6, 14, 15, 16 and 22 report against UK SRS on a comply-or-explain basis for periods beginning on or after 1 January 2027.

For everyone else the standards are voluntary.

Does ESG software need to be assurance-ready?

No UK law requires sustainability assurance.

ISSA (UK) 5000 was issued by the FRC for voluntary use and is effective for periods beginning on or after 15 December 2026.

A traceable evidence trail still makes any review cheaper.

What should the contract say about leaving?

Under UK GDPR Article 28, a processor contract must be in writing and must say the provider deletes or returns personal data at the end of the service, at your choice.

Ask for the same for all your ESG data and workings.

How many platforms should I shortlist?

Three is usually enough to compare honestly in a demo with your own data.

How long should choosing take?

This worksheet can be completed in one sitting; the demos and contract take longer.

No official benchmark exists, so plan around your own reporting dates.

Can I start with a spreadsheet?

Yes, many companies do for SECR and a first carbon footprint.

Software earns its place with several entities, many data owners or several frameworks.

Sources

Primary sources

Every figure, date and status on this page traces to the instrument’s owner.

Secondary commentary is never the source for a number.

Checked against 15 sources fromDBTFCAFRClegislation.gov.ukCabinet OfficeGHG Protocol
  1. DBT
    UK SRS S1 General Requirements (PDF), ¶20

    The reporting entity is the same as for the financial statements.

  2. DBT
    UK SRS S2 Climate-related Disclosures (PDF)

    The climate standard.

  3. DBT
    UK Sustainability Reporting Standards

    Published 25 February 2026 for voluntary use.

  4. FCA
    PS26/19 — final rules on UK SRS reporting by listed companies

    Comply or explain for UKLR 6, 14, 15, 16 and 22, periods from 1 January 2027.

  5. FCA
    PS26/19 (PDF), Appendix 1

    UKLR 6.6.6R(8)(c)–(e): location, assurance and transition-plan statements.

  6. FRC
    ISSA (UK) 5000

    Issued 12 November 2025 for voluntary use; effective 15 December 2026.

  7. FRC
    ISSA (UK) 5000 news release

    The FRC’s announcement.

  8. legislation.gov.uk
    SI 2008/410, Schedule 7 (SECR)

    The directors’ report energy and carbon lines.

  9. legislation.gov.uk
    ESOS Regulations 2014

    The energy audit scheme.

  10. Cabinet Office
    PPN 006: carbon reduction plans

    Procurement policy for major government contracts.

  11. GHG Protocol
    Corporate Accounting and Reporting Standard

    Consistency and transparency principles.

  12. GRI
    GRI Standards

    A voluntary framework many tools map to.

  13. CDP
    CDP

    A voluntary disclosure many customers request.

  14. EUR-Lex
    Omnibus I

    The narrowed EU CSRD scope, for UK groups with EU subsidiaries.

  15. legislation.gov.uk
    UK GDPR, Article 28

    The processor contract: deletion or return at the end, in writing.

Book a free consultation